Javascript must be enabled for the correct page display
skip to content
CIO / KASAPOGLU Mine Rio 2016 OG, Beach volleyball Men - Semifinal,Alison CERUTTI et Bruno OSCAR SCHMIDT (BRA)1st versus Alexander BROUWER and RobertMEEUWSEN (NED) 3rd. View of the Stadium and ofthe public.© 2016 / Comité International Olympique(CIO) / KASAPOGLU, Mine.


The organisation of sporting events and infrastructure carries high risks of inefficiencies, corruption and misconduct. To meet tight deadlines and manage significant resources for construction and infrastructure development projects might pressure organisations or governments to circumvent established procurement procedures, underpinning infrastructure delivery in almost all OECD countries, and sound risk management practices.

With the view to reducing the risk of corruption in procurement relating to sporting events and infrastructure, the International Partnership Against Corruption in Sports (IPACS) created a dedicated task force with the objective of mapping procurement standards to the specific context of sport and develop actionable guidelines and targeted tools aimed at managing procurement risks, including corruption risk in the public procurement of sporting events.

You can read the full executive summary here – December 2018

Task Force 1 report – December 2018

IPACS TF1 meeting – 4 May 2020

Procurement of major international sport-events-related infrastructure and services - Good practices and guidelines for the Olympic Movement – May 2020


The task force was facilitated by the OECD and IPACS wishes to thank Matthieu Cahen for coordinating its work, Despina Pachnou and Gavin Ugale (OECD), the Public Procurement Research Group led by Professor Sue Arrowsmith of the University of Nottingham, Anita Sobjak and Klaus Grewe for their substantive contributions to drafting of the task force’s report.

IPACS also acknowledges with profound gratitude those who have contributed their time and expertise to the work of the task force: Nicola Bonucci, Nejla Saula, Mary-Ann Crane-Charef, Apostolos Zampounidis and Marianne Aalto (OECD). The work reflected in the report had further benefited from the strategic contributions and valuable comments from members of the Task Force: Pâquerette Girard-Zappeli, Konstantina Orologopoulou and Catia Giannotta (International Olympic Committee), James Carr (Association of Summer Olympic International Federations), Stanislas Frossard and Gianluca Esposito (Council of Europe), Dimitri Vlassis, Candice Welsch and Ronan O’Laoire (United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime), Stephanie Männl, Myriam Burkhard and Maurice Labhart (FIFA), Alistair McLean (World Rugby), Mike Chambers (Association of National Olympic Committees), Joseph Whittal (Association of Anti-Corruption Agencies in Commonwealth Africa), Eugene Otuonye, (Commonwealth Caribbean Association of Integrity Commissions and Anti-Corruption Bodies), Laura Alonso, Julieta Anahi Arias, Ignacio Martín Irigaray, Nicolas Rantica, Soledad Zarate, Alvaro Herrero and Florencia Alvarez (Argentina), Torsten Weiden (Germany), Alfredo Durante Mangoni, Paolo Bertaccini, Valérie Peano and Marco Befera (Italy) and Catherine Lacaze (France).

back to top