skip to content
CIO / MARTIN Greg 131st IOC Session, Lima, 2017 - Thomas BACH,IOC President announces Paris, host city of the2024 Olympic Summer Games and Los Angeles,host city of the 2028 Olympic Summer Games. Onthe left, Anne HIDALGO and on the right, EricGARCETTI, both are Mayors of their respectivecities.© 2017 / Comité International Olympique(CIO) / MARTIN, Greg.


With a view to ensuring integrity in the selection of Major Sporting Events (MSEs), with an initial focus on managing conflict of interest, the International Partnership Against Corruption in Sports (IPACS) created a dedicated task force with the objective of building on existing standards and expertise to encourage the implementation of conflict of interest mechanisms and facilitating a common understanding amongst sport organizers, governments, and international organizations alike on what the risks are and how to manage them. The first report of Task Force 2 considers conflicts of interest which may arise in International Sport Organisations (ISOs) when a vote takes place to award the hosting rights for an MSE, and proposes appropriate measures to manage them based on international standards and good practices.

You can read the full executive summary here 

Contributors: Nicola Bonucci, Nejla Saula, Mary Crane-Charef, Apostolos Zampounidis and Marianne Aalto (OECD), Pâquerette Girard-Zappelli, Catia Gianotta and Konstantina Orologopoulou (International Olympic Committee). The work reflected in the report had further benefited from the strategic contributions and valuable comments from members of the Task Force: Gianluca Esposito, Sophie Meudal-Leenders and Stanislas Frossard (Council of Europe), Dimitri Vlassis, Candice Welsch, Ronan O’Laoire (United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime), Hitesh Patel, Robert Morini and Laura Cronk (United Kingdom); Mike Chambers (Association of National Olympic Committees, ANOC), James Carr (Association of Summer Olympic International Federations), David Grevemberg (Commonwealth Games Federation), Stephanie Männl, Myriam Burkhard and Maurice Labhart (Fédération Internationale de Football Association, FIFA), Davide Delfini (Global Association of International Sports Federations, GAISF), Terry Miller (IAAF), Nicolas Valticos (Union Cycliste Internationale, UCI), Laura Alonso, Ignacio Martín Irigaray, Nicolas Rantica, (Argentina), Émilie Cazenave and Jeanne Dominjon (France), Torsten Weiden (Germany), Alfredo Durante Mangoni, Paolo Bertaccini, Valérie Peano and Marco Befera (Italy), Jean-Loup Chappelet (University of Lausanne). Rowland Jack (I Trust Sport), Janice Shardlow and Gemma Sykes.

back to top